Page 1 of 1

Change Ghostscript reference

Posted: 2014-12-02T00:47:37-07:00
by mac_ref
Goodmorning,
I know that ImageMagick works with the Ghostscript and I would like to know if I can use ImageMagick just with the gsdll32.dll.
I'd like to use my software even if Ghostscript is not installed on a computer, so I thought that maybe it could be a way to reference the dll inside my code for ImageMagick to use it.
Is it possible or the software I will develop with ImageMagick needs to run on computers that have Ghostscript installed?

Thank you

Re: Change Ghostscript reference

Posted: 2014-12-02T01:48:02-07:00
by snibgo
If I understand correctly, IM can be built with Ghostscript as an internal delegate, by using

Code: Select all

./configure ... --with-gslib ...
Otherwise, IM uses Ghostscript as an external delegate, by running the Ghostscript program.

Re: Change Ghostscript reference

Posted: 2014-12-02T01:50:59-07:00
by mac_ref
snibgo wrote:If I understand correctly, IM can be built with Ghostscript as an internal delegate, by using

Code: Select all

./configure ... --with-gslib ...
Otherwise, IM uses Ghostscript as an external delegate, by running the Ghostscript program.
I don't understand how to use this.
The programming language I'm using is C#, where do I have to launch this command?

Re: Change Ghostscript reference

Posted: 2014-12-02T02:07:06-07:00
by snibgo
This is part of the process of building from source. See http://www.imagemagick.org/script/install-source.php . If building on Windows with Cygwin, see also my http://im.snibgo.com/compim.htm

Re: Change Ghostscript reference

Posted: 2014-12-02T02:45:10-07:00
by mac_ref
Ok, thank you very much!

Re: Change Ghostscript reference

Posted: 2014-12-02T04:18:35-07:00
by mac_ref
I have Magick.Net-x86.dll and Magick.Net-x86.xml in my software bin directory.
Can I change the xml to link ImageMagick to the gsdll32.dll which is in the same directory?

Re: Change Ghostscript reference

Posted: 2014-12-02T04:26:01-07:00
by snibgo
Sorry, I know nothing about Magick.Net.

Re: Change Ghostscript reference

Posted: 2014-12-02T11:19:46-07:00
by dlemstra
You can specify an alternative ghostscript location with MagickNET.SetGhostscriptDirectory. I think you only need the dll but I am not sure so you have to try it yourself